Via CLR with thanks -

Some old book in new cover ? Or are some of these "exes" genuinely looking for a new political start ?
Posted by irishelectionliterature in Irish Politics.
On the back of the previous posts on Left candidates elected and candidates backed by TDs, a breakdown to the best of my knowledge of the political backgrounds of all the Independents elected. Where blank I couldn’t find any details of former party membership.
I’ve also included links to their leaflets if I had them.
If there is any additional information on any candidate that I have missed or if there are any errors please comment.

Charlie Murphy
Walter Lacey -former PD Councillor

Christy Curtin
Ian Lynch -ex FG (FG town councillor who ran as Ind)
Gerry Flynn -ex FG
PJ Ryan -ex FF
Michael Begley -ex FF
James Breen -ex FF
Ann Norton (disability campaigner former Clare person of the year)

Cork City Council
Paudie Dineen (People’s Candidate)
Mick Finn -ex FF
Thomas Moloney
Kieran McCarthy -ex FG

Cork County Council
Michael Collins
Declan Hurley -ex FG
Noel Collins
John Paul O’Shea
Timmy Collins (ex FG)
Mary Linehan Foley (FF Town Councillor who ran as Ind)
Claire Cullinane (Peoples Candidate)
Kevin Conway
Marcia D’Alton
Joe Harris

Frank McBrearty Jnr (ex Labour)
John O’Donnell -son of former Ind FF cllr Eddie O’Donnell
Ian McGarvey -once FF
Dessie Shiels
Michael McBride (ex Ind FF -Blaney and FF)
Micheal Cholm MacGiolla Easbuig -Tom Pringle backed
Nicholas Crossan
John Campbell -Tom Pringle backed
Tom Conaghan
Niamh Kennedy

Dublin City Council
Ruairi McGinley – (FG Cllr not selected ran as Ind)
Christy Burke – ex SF
Nial Ring -Ex FF
Gary Gannon -ex Gregory group
Eilis Ryan - ex Labour
Damian O’Farrell – backed by Finian McGrath
Cieran Perry - Left Independent former Working Class Action
Teresa Keegan – Ex FG , left the party over Abortion or Austerity or not getting nominated.
Paddy Bourke -ex Labour backed by Tommy Broughan
Paul Hand -ex Labour
Vincent Jackson
Mannix Flynn

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown
Deidre Donnelly -Shane Ross endorsed
Kevin Daly – Shane Ross endorsed
Lynsey McGovern
Seamas O’Neill -Shane Ross endorsed (failed at FG convention)
Michael Merrigan
Victor Boyhan – ex PD

Paul Mulville -ex Labour member
Justin Sinnott – ex Labour member
Anne Devitt – ‘Resigned from FG over Mahon Tribunal findings
Joe Newman
Lorna Nolan -Left Independent
Cian O’Callaghan -Ex Labour Cllr
Jimmy Guerin -ex FF
Tony Murphy -was on FG ticket initially but ran as an Ind
David O’Connor -
Grainne Maguire

Galway City
Catherine Connolly – ex Labour
Donal Lyons -Ex PD
Terry O’Flaherty -Ex PD
Declan McDonnell -Ex PD
Noel Larkin
Mike Cubbard

Galway County Council
Tom Welby -Ex PD
Seosamh O’Cualain
Tomas O’Curraoin -RSF
Jame Charity
Jim Cuddy -Ex PD
Pat Hynes - ex SF
Michael ‘Stroke’ Fahy -Ex FF
Tim Broderick -ex PD
Shaun Cunniffe -resigned from Labour over Abortion
Karey McHugh - ex Labour
Michael Fitzmaurice -Turfcutters and Contractors Association
Sean Canney – FF background

Michael Cahill - Tom Fleming backed
Dan McCarthy – Tom Fleming backed
Johnny Healy Rae -Michael Healy-Rae backed
Danny Healy Rae -Michael Healy-Rae backed
Sam Locke
Donal Grady -brother of ex WP and Lab Cllr but an Ind
Brendan Cronin

Seamie Moore
Padraig McEvoy – Catherine Murphy Backed
Teresa Murray – Catherine Murphy Backed
Anthony Larkin – Catherine Murphy Backed
Paddy Kennedy
Joanne Pender -Left Independent (was involved with CAHWT)
Willie Crowley
Brendan Young -Community Solidarity
Bernard Calwell (FF Town Councillor who ran as an Ind)

Dixie Doyle
Breda Gardiner

Brendan Phelan -Ex FF
Ben Brennan
James Kelly

Gerry Dolan
Des Guckian
Enda Stenson
Felim Gurn

Brigid Teefy -ex PD
John Gilligan
Emmett O’Brien -ex FF (member of Nat Exec who failed to get nomination so ran as an Ind)

Mae Sexton -ex Lab and PD
Gerry Warnock
Mark Casey -ex FF

Maeve Anna Yore
Frank Godfrey
Jim Tenanty -ex FG

Michael Holmes
Christy Hyland – FG Town Cllr who failed to get nomination and ran as Ind
Richard Finn
Michael Kilcoyne – briefly Labour
Frank Durcan
Gerry Ginty -ex SF
Seamus Weir -FG Councillor who resigned to run as an Ind just before the selection convention.

Nick Killian – FF Councillor who didn’t get selected at convention so ran as an Ind
Brian Fitzgerald – Left Labour over merger with DL
Trevor Golden
Francis Deane
Tom Kelly -ex Green Councillor
Sharon Keogan – ex FF backroom
Wayne Forde
David Gilroy -brother of Labour senator John Gilroy
Joe Bonner

Paudge Connolly
Seamus Treanor

Dervill Dolan
Noel Cribbin -ex FF
John Foley -ex FF
John Leahy
John Carroll -ex SF

Valerie Byrne -Hospital Action Committee
Dominick Connolly -ex FG – Denis Naughten backed
Laurence Fallon -ex FG – Denis Naughten backed
Nigel Dineen
Kathleen Shanagher
Tony Ward

Michael Clarke -ex FF
Margaret Gormley
Declan Bree -ex UL, Lab, SLISO
Marie Casserly

South Dublin
Francis Timmons
Paul Gogarty -ex Green
Liona O’Toole
Gus O’Connell
Deirdre O’Donovan – Shane Ross endorsed
Dermot Richardson
Dermot Looney -Ex Labour
Ronan McMahon – Ex FG

Kieran Bourke -ex FF (ran as an Indo after not being selected)
Eddie O’Meara
Denis Leahy – ex FG
Tom Wood -ex FG
Martin Lonergan -ex FF member – Mattie McGrath backed
Richie Molloy – ex PD /FF Mattie McGrath backed
Andy Moloney – ex FF (ran as an Indo after not being selected)
Joe Hannigan
Jim Ryan -ex FF
Michael O’Meara – ex FF (ranas Ind in 2004 after failing to get nomination) Lowry Team
Michael Lowry – Lowry Team
Willie Kennedy – Lowry Team
Highie McGrath -ex FF

Sean Reinhardt -backed by John Halligan
Blaise Hannigan- ex FF -backed by John Halligan
Seamus O’Donnell -ex FF -backed by John Halligan
Cha o’Neill
Davy Daniels
Mary Roche -briefly with FF
Eddie Mulligan
Joe Kelly -ex SF

Kevin’ Boxer’ Moran -ex FF
Michael O’Brien – ex FF organiser in Athlone, resigned to run as an Ind

John O’Rourke – ex FF
Mary Farrell – failed to get FF nomination so ran as an Independent
Anthony Connick – ex FF , decided to run as an Ind earlier this year. Brother of former TD Sean Connick
Martin Murphy – ex FF decided to run as an Ind
David Hynes – Councillor who left Labour in early 2013
Ger Carthy – son of former Ind cllr Leo Carthy

Pat Kavanagh – ex Green and Fís Nua
Daire Nolan – ex FF (or from FF family)
Jennifer Whitmore – Backed by Stephen Donnelly
Tom Fortune – Resigned from Labour last year
Joe Behan – Ex FF
Christopher Fox – Brother of ex TD Mildred Fox, son of ex TD John Fox. FF gene pool
Brendan Thornhill
Tommy Cullen – ex Lab
Jim Ruttle -ex FF
Miriam Murphy – Arklow Disability Action Group

I suggest this thread is used for keeping track of any developments of note involving independents at local council level.