Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Lucinda chasing the top job in FG? - adventures of the rebel alliance

hiding inside Brendan Gleesons underwear drawer...

Default Lucinda chasing the top job in FG? - adventures of the rebel alliance

All the noise coming from her over the new abortion bill is marking her stand out from the party isnt it? At the forefront of those voting for the bill is Lucinda and any media opportunity she further consolidates her position. Aside from her random mutterings her latest drivel on the topic is her musing that the abortion debate is not a religious issue but that of human rights.

http://www.lucindacreighton.ie/2013/...-second-stage/

Look at the choice of language

I have never regarded myself as a pro-life campaigner. I was not motivated to become active in politics because of the abortion issue. In fact I have spoken previously about the fact that I held a very different view on this matter when I was a student.
    There is an emerging consensus in Ireland which suggests that having a sense of morality has something to do with the Catholic Church. It is automatically assumed that if you consult your conscience, you are essentially consulting with Rome. This is deeply worrying. It is a lazy way of attempting to undermine the worth of an argument, without actually dealing with the substance. This is not just a Catholic issue, any more than it is a Protestant or Muslim issue. This is not a religious issue. It is a human rights issue.
    That very stance appeases all of the members of the party. The non religious or agnostics see the religious element being omitted and the anti choicers see her taking a principaled stance. Now that Enda may take over from Barroso and FG will be as popular as a dose of the clap is she angling for the leadership of FG?

There was a reported attempted to apparently give Enda the heave years ago, of which Creighton denies she was a part...

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/...-26690568.html