PDA

View Full Version : Stem cells, embryos and political policy

morticia
18-02-2011, 04:37 PM
Well, folks, thought it might be worth my while starting a thread on this issue; as a scientist, I'd be very interested to see what the general opinion is on human embryonic stem (hES) cells and their use (or not) here in Ireland.

Obviously, research using umbilical cord stem cells, induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS, derived from skin cells or other adult tissue), adult stem cells etc could be considered to have far fewer legal and ethical implications, and therefore to be more attractive.

The scientific problem is that 1) iPS cells mimic hES, but have a much less ethically fraught origin. However, they don't always behave exactly as hES and may have issues relating to the DNA inserts used to "deprogramme" them such that they behave like embryonic stem cells. Their use in research is often recommended WITH hES controls. 2) hES cells have a much wider degree of pluripotency than adult stem cells (they can turn into more tissues, in other words).

Bottom line: argument for their use is that they present a therapeutic avenue for currently incurable health problems, the argument against their use is that it involves the destruction of human embryos (however, IVF clinics often discard excess embryos anyway). But I'd agree with the pro-lifers at least that the ethics is fraught.

I have tried to research the positions of the parties here on this issue.

Fianna Fail: have left us with a legacy of no legislation at all. The ethics committee of UCC has allowed limited use of lines available in the NIH (also legal under Bush). The other unis have yet to move on this issue as far as I am aware.

Fine Gael: http://9thlevelireland.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/fine-gaels-stance-on-stem-cell-research/

Labour: promise to legislate http://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/letters/lack-of-stem-cell-laws-puts-patients-at-risk-145613.html
They have also promised to legislate on the X case.